Foundation Nursing Scholarship

Download Nursing Scholarship Application

The BVRMC Nursing Scholarship Committee is accepting scholarship applications until March 31.

The annual scholarship is $1000. The number of scholarships available varies based on donations. Since 2003, 172 have been awarded.

Who is eligible for the scholarship?

Applicants must be:

  • Permanent resident of Buena Vista County or adjoining county of Ida, Sac, Pocahontas, Clay or Cherokee.
  • Completed at least one year of pre-nursing education at an accredited school and has applied or will be applying to a nursing program for the upcoming academic year.
  • Cumulative GPA of 2.5 or higher.

Nurses working towards an advanced degree are also eligible to apply.

There is a special exception for current BVRMC employees with a CNA certificate that have completed at least one semester of nursing education.

What is the awarded amount?

The scholarship is $1000 per year ($500 per semester). The recipient will need to provide evidence of acceptable academic progress to receive the second $500 payment. All evidence must be presented by February 1, 2023 unless other arrangements are made prior to that date. Applicants will need to reapply each year for consideration by the Scholarship Committee. Past scholarship recipients are not eligible if they have received a scholarship twice.

What is the deadline for applying?

The application and required three reference report must be postmarked no later than March 31.

Mailing Address

Buena Vista Regional Medical Center
Katie Schwint / Foundation Department
1525 West 5th Street
Storm Lake, IA 50588