BVRMC Foundation Recognizes Nursing Scholarship Recipients

Coleen Imming | June 3rd, 2019

Pictured are scholarship recipients, from left to right, Brenda Thams, Lily Freking, Drew Binning, Sydney Kay, Lauren Rohwer, Alicia Heuton, Julia Romero, Jenna Coppock, Morgan Roberts and Casey Orth-Nebitt. The remaining four recipients were not able to attend the award reception.

Pictured is Kathleen (McKenna) Osterman, scholarship recipient Alicia Heuton and Maureen (McKenna) Strader.

Pictured is Mrs. Evelyn Meyer with scholarship recipient, Lauren Rohwer.

Pictured is Brenda Thams with Barb Jorgensen.

The fourteen recipients selected to receive nursing scholarships for the 2019-2020 academic year were recognized at the 17th annual award reception held May 31st in the Kallmer Education Center at Buena Vista Regional Medical Center.  A total of one-hundred thirty-nine scholarships have been awarded since the program began in 2003.  Each scholarship is $1000 and is funded entirely from donations, many of them from very generous donors who have established a scholarship fund in their name.  Awards this year went to Allysha Vibbard, Lytton, Nancy Rodriguez, Storm Lake, Morgan Roberts, Newell and Alexandria Salsberry, Battle Creek, receiving the BVRMC Nursing Scholarship Committee awards; Drew Binning, Storm Lake, receiving the Jack and Jane Spooner Nursing Scholarship; Jenna Coppock, Newell, receiving the Phillip and Iris Halverson Nursing Scholarship; Julia Romero, Storm Lake, receiving the Jenny Perry Memorial Nursing Scholarship; Lauren Rohwer, Aurelia, receiving the William and Evelyn Meyer Nursing Scholarship; Brenda Thams, Albert City, receiving the Jim and Barb Jorgensen Nursing Scholarship; Sydney Kay, Albert City, receiving the Marilyn Bryant Memorial Nursing Scholarship; Casey Orth-Nebitt, Storm Lake, receiving the Unity Point Family Medicine Buena Vista Physicians Nursing Scholarship; Maddi Morenz, Newell, receiving the Dr. Velma Boston Memorial Nursing Scholarship; Lily Freking, Aurelia, receiving the BVRMC Shared Governance Council Nursing Scholarship; and Alicia Heuton, Albert City, receiving the Marye McKenna Memorial Nursing Scholarship. Kathleen (McKenna) Osterman RN, MSA, LTCOL ARNC (Retired), daughter of J.F. and Marye McKenna, addressed the attendees with a message about her inspiration to become a nurse because of her mother and reminding them of the importance of the honorable profession of nursing.

Events and News

BLS Healthcare Provider
  • BLS Healthcare Provider


    RN’s, LPN’s, EMT’s, RT’s & other Licensed & Certified Healthcare professionals requiring Healthcare Provider BLS certification for their work

    Part I – Online Course done through American Heart Association. $28.50 Part II - Skills Evaluation. Cost is $30 (This includes the AHA certification card.) Call 712-213-8683 to register.
    Thursday, January 2, 2020
    1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

    Click for more information.
Heartsaver CPR/First Aid
  • Heartsaver CPR/First Aid

    This class is for the general public including daycare providers or those working in a childcare setting. Cost: $55 Call 213-8683 to register.
    Thursday, January 2, 2020
    3:00 pm - 7:00 pm

    Click for more information.